Fiction, New Releases, Nonfiction

New This Month: February 2020

I had to take a step back these past few weeks and reassess why I write this blog. I wanted to join a community tag, and then was disheartened when I wasn’t added to the list of participants. Which is silly. Why would I put such stock into recognition by others since I always told myself that I did this for myself? And if someone happened to find a book they loved, then that was always just a bonus. I told myself I didn’t need the validation, this is meant to be fun. I want to be happy with myself and the reason for writing. Because at the end of the day, I have to want to do this, want to be a part of the book blogging community. And if I’m down on myself or putting undue emphasis on things that really aren’t that important, this looses it’s fun. And that’s the last thing I want. Okay, rant over, onto the real purpose of this post – new releases!

As the book buyer for a local independent book store, I have the great joy of being able to see what books are coming, what publishers are excited about, and more, a good three to nine months before the books are actually released. While this is normally very exciting, it also means that by the time the book comes out, I’ve most likely already read, and therefore forgotten, about it. My hope here is to a, share some exciting new titles with you, lovely book lovers and b, remind myself of all the books that will be arriving in the store this month! While the release dates are for US editions, most will be available internationally around the same time or shortly thereafter. In the USA, I recommend purchasing through IndieBound, in the UK, and many other parts of the world, I recommend Blackwell’s, and if neither of those cover where you live, I recommend checking out your local booksellers before turning to major chains/online for your book buying needs.

I’ve chosen a collection of books in a variety of genres because I have a myriad of tastes and interests, hopefully one, or a few, will appeal to you! Reviews will be posted for some of the titles as they are released!

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

  • The Great Blue Hills of God by Kreis Beall – I don’t know what exactly drew me to this book, other than the fact that it’s a memoir from a unique circumstance. It is Kreis’ journey towards finding peace in her life and I found it a relaxing read.
  • The Authenticity Project by Clare Pooley – Compared to The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry and Fredrik Backman, as well as Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Clare Pooley’s story promises to be a standout work of fiction this year.
  • Dressed for a Dance in the Snow by Monika Zgustova – Continuing in the tradition of Svetlana Alexievich, Monika Zgustova presents an oral history of the women who survived the Russian gulags and it is heartwrenching yet uplifting.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

  • House of Trelawney by Hannah Rothschild – This book reminds me of I Capture the Castle and The Montmaray Diaries – it is a beautifully wrought story of a family in financial crisis in an old manor house in the UK and I just love it.
  • Chanel’s Riviera by Anne de Courcy – WWII nonfiction is something I will always gravitate towards, especially when famous people are involved. It’s a great story and even more extraordinary because it’s true.
  • Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls – A romantic comedy written by a guy! It’s fun, it’s fresh, and it’s a great addition to the modernizing romance section.
  • The King at the Edge of the World by Arthur Phillips – A unique historical fiction book set during the reign of Elizabeth I of England with a spy at the center. Spies are in right now, but the idea of an Elizabethean spy master from the Middle East is a new and fresh concept that is well executed.
  • The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave – Sweden meets Scotland and feminism and hell yes do I love it! Another historical fiction where, alas, the Scots are the crazy religious nuts, but it is fierce and amazing.
  • Adequate Yearly Progress by Roxanna Elden – The teacher in me gravitated towards the book immediately – AYP is the acronym we all live in slight fear of. It’s a niche idea, but should have widespread appeal.

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

  • Citizen Reporters by Stephanie Gorton – Oh the start of the tabloid era with the “muckraking” journalists. While the journalists now get a bad rap, at the turn of the last century, they were the truth seekers and Citizen Reporters investigates that change in domestic journalism.
  • Here for It by R. Eric Thomas – Eric’s essay collection is both humorous and touching. His is a much needed voice in today’s era of division and animosity and I can’t wait to share it with people at the store.
  • The Splendid and the Vile by Erik Larson – I love all books by Erik Larson (Dead Wake is my favorite) but this one is quickly looking to supplant it. The story of the first year of Churchill’s tenure as Prime Minister, it tackles not only his challenges in the role, but that particular year of WWII in London.
  • The Unexpected Spy by Tracy Walder with Jessic Anya Blau – My fascination with women in the Middle East continues with The Unexpected Spy. The unique thing about this book is that the retractions are left in. It occasionally makes for clunky reading, but it’s fun trying to figure out what the CIA found worthy of censoring…
  • The Watergate Girl by Jill Wine-Banks – In an era where the president can break all the rules and get away with it, The Watergate Girl harkens back to when that wasn’t the case by looking closely at the Nixon era and subsequent investigation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s