Fiction, New Releases, Nonfiction

New This Month: October 2020

Happy October! This month we continue on with the pre-holiday pub dates for the major publishers which means LOTS of awesome books to add to your TBR!

As the book buyer for a local independent book store, I have the great joy of being able to see what books are coming, what publishers are excited about, and more, a good three to nine months before the books are actually released. While this is normally very exciting, it also means that by the time the book comes out, I’ve most likely already read, and therefore forgotten, about it. My hope here is to a, share some exciting new titles with you, lovely book lovers and b, remind myself of all the books that will be arriving in the store this month! While the release dates are for US editions, most will be available internationally around the same time or shortly thereafter. In the USA, I recommend purchasing through Bookshop, in the UK, and many other parts of the world, I recommend Blackwell’s, and if neither of those cover where you live, I recommend checking out your local booksellers before turning to major chains/online for your book buying needs.

I’ve chosen a collection of books in a variety of genres because I have a myriad of tastes and interests, hopefully one, or a few, will appeal to you! Reviews will be posted for some of the titles as they are released!

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V. E. Schwab – Addie LaRue is a woman who doesn’t age and goes through the centuries being forgotten by all who meet her as soon as she’s out of sight. For centuries she’s existed, continuously re-introducing herself, using countless names, hoping someone might remember her. Victoria’s writing has only continued to get better and better over the years and she tells Addie’s story with as much love and compassion as one can – I was immediately pulled in and cannot wait to share Addie’s story with those who already known V.E. Schwab and newcomers alike.

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

  • Billions of Besties by Peggy Panosh & Susie Arons – We could all use some positivity these days and what better way to share it than by celebrating awesome friendships! The ones included range from the well known (Gayle and Oprah) to more ideological (Lizzo and The Truth). It’s a great collection and will be an adorable gift book for your BFF this holiday season!
  • 150 Glimpses of the Beatles by Craig Brown – The Beatles were the first (and only) band my father and I bonded over. We’ve been to countless tribute band concerts, we danced to George’s Here Comes the Sun at my wedding, and he frequently adds Beatles books to my growing collection. After reading Craig Brown’s book on Princess Margaret, I was immediately interested in this book. It’s a great trip through the years and members of the Beatles’ lives – I laughed, I cried, I enjoyed the journey of reading it tremendously.
  • Dandelion by Gabbie Hanna – Even better than Adultolescence, I enjoyed Dandelion immensely. Gabbie has grown both as a poet and a person and Dandelion’s poems are less superficial and far deeper than I expected after having read her first collection. I look forward to recommending this collection to young poetry novices and poetry lovers alike! (people have been hate-reviewing this book on Goodreads, please give it a decent chance)

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

  • Shit, Actually by Lindy West – I’ve been a Lindy fan since she was writing at Jezebel and I will read anything she writes. After two pretty heavy and hard hitting books, it’s like surfacing from a deep dive and taking a gulp of fresh air to get a collection of funny, yet thought provoking, witty and irreverent film reviews. While I may not agree with each one (even the rankings being based on The Fugitive), I loved them all and was delighted to have a book from her that made me laugh more than cry.

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

  • The Fangirl’s Guide to the Universe by Sam Maggs – The perfect followup to The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy, I loved revisiting Sam’s trademark wit and humor and cannot wait to share her work with the next generation of geek girls!
  • Fortune Favors the Dead by Stephen Spotswood – I’m not a big modern mystery reader, but I adore a wonderfully written historical mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie and Anthony Horowitz. This book hooked me from page one and Willowjean and Ms. Pentecost definitely rock the Watson/Sherlock tone very well, but with feminist undercurrents and I absolutely love it. I cannot wait to share it with readers this holiday season!
  • Stories from Suffragette City edited by M. J. Rose – A fun and timely collection of short stories centered around the suffragette movement. It’s a great idea and some of the stories really deliver. It’s best suited to lovers of the bestselling authors it features, not diehard fans of short stories.
  • Jane in Love by Rachel Givney – A cute and delightful fresh take on Austen and her life, as well as her books. I really enjoyed reading and seeing Jane react to the modern world!

While I enjoy doing this monthly collection, I ultimately hope that it is helpful to you, dear readers! Are there any books that I didn’t include that you’re excited for this month?

3 thoughts on “New This Month: October 2020”

  1. Thank you for this list. 😊 Honestly, I have been pretty fixated on The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, I have heard so much about VE Schwab, not having ventured into any of her books before so I hope this will be a great first. Would love to know more on how it pulled you in! (Those immediate addictive reads are a great favourite of mine especially in a slump.) 🤪

    Like

    1. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue immediately starts with a mystery – why doesn’t anyone remember her? How did she get this way? And for me, that was the immediate hook – I just had to know! It’s not my favorite of V.E. Schwab’s books, but it is a solid starting point and more modern light fantasy than the high fantasy worlds of her other books.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s